Hello, Hello and Mickey Mouse Cookies

2

January 31, 2013 by beccawittman

Hello, hello, hello!

Welcome to the blog of a hopelessly messy schoolgirl, which will – hopefully – contain as many recipes as I make over the course of the next year(or two…or three…). (Just to warn you, these will probably be accompanied by lengthy ramblings about morality, Les Mis, and Oscar Wilde. Beware.)

Anyway, I’m extremely new to the whole food blogging thing(see post below), so bear with  me if you can. (I promise that I’m not as bad as a photographer as I look – its that freaking six A.M light.) And please – PLEASE – don’t expect me to be professional. I try my best, but your hopes will still probably be crushed. If you guys have any recipe suggestions, GO SUGGEST THEM! I can never have too many ideas.

So, with that out of the way:

HERE COMES MICKEY!
I swear these things almost gave me a heart attack, but they are ADORABLE. I’ve seen them all over the internet and I’ve wanted to make these since forever.

But.

I have not baked cookies in a long time.

A long, long time.

I’m more of an interesting-flavor-combo-cupcake-with-a-swirl-on-top kind of girl – at least usually, so these were a bit of a change-of-scenery-challenge. (Oh my goodness, did I just call cookies a challenge? I take it back. MAKE THEM.) And this was my first royal icing experiment, so…

Yeah, I make a lot of excuses. Sorry.

 

Cookies:

1 c. butter, softened
1 c. sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
2 1/2 c. flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt (optional)
 
Cream butter and sugar. Combine dry ingredients in a medium bowl; add eggs, vanilla, and dry ingredients to butter-sugar mixture. Chill dough for two hours. (Or you can shove it in the freezer in a desperate attempt to cool it faster, like I did. Otherwise, if you’re in a rush, just make drop cookies.) Roll out, cut into shapes, and bake at 6-8 minutes at 350 degrees Fahrenheit. (See – breaking the rules again. My size Mickeys all took just about seven minutes – it was wonderfully efficient.)
 
Being the broke cheater that I am, I used a teacup and something else (I don’t know what’s the name) to form them, which turned out to work pretty well. (Except a lot of their ears fell off…ouch.)
Image
(Stupid 6:00 A.M light!)
Also – being the forgetful person that I am, I kind of…uhm…forgot to take pictures of the actual mixing process.. But I remembered afterward…
Image
 
Oh, and of the course the royal icing  looking absolutely snow white and perfect, even BEFORE the mixing process, just like this:
Image
 
Hahaha, no, it looked more like this.
Image
Hehe. I flatter myself too much.
So from what I’ve seen of other tutorial is that most normal people pipe an outline and then fill it in. But of course, being not much of a morning person, I did one cookie the normal way, got bored, and just started spreading.ImageImage
It turned out okay, though, which was good for me.Image
TImageImage
The dots were easy enough – just white icing and an 1/8 of a teaspoon measure did the work. Speaking of which:
 
Royal Icing:
3 egg whites
1 lb. powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
 
Combine ingredients until smooth. (Complicated, right?)
So, I suppose that would conclude the first post…happy blogging, reading, and baking!
 
 
xo Becca
2 thoughts on “Hello, Hello and Mickey Mouse Cookies

  1. I love the 6 am cooking routine and your personal way of writing! Why try the cookies at home on the next kids birthday opportunity. Thanks for sharing and being so creative, linda!

  2. I meant – WILL try the cookies at home!! It will be my first time baking cookies 😉

Leave a Reply

