Lemon & Lavender

2

February 4, 2013 by beccawittman

Lavender.

What do you think of when you hear it? Half the world will probably say cleaning supplies but I think yummy.

Well, at least now I do.

We went to a specialty baking supply store yesterday and they had racks of different flavorings and extracts. I did not walk away from that aisle empty handed.

I mean, come on, I’d have to have self-control.

I had been hearing about the lemon-lavender practice for a while, so naturally, I went right for it.

Image

Image

That thing has been staring at me all day long and honestly, it’s quite scary. It’s got these beady little eyes that will not stop following you.

Seriously creepy.

So I decided to make a cookie.

Lemon Lavender Cookies

(If you want a basic, plain cookie recipe that you can pair with anything, just prepare as directed, omitting the lemon/lavender and adding 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla.)

1 c. (two sticks) unsalted butter, softened

1 c. sugar

2 eggs

Lavender oil to taste (mine was around 1/4 teaspoon)

1 tsp. plus 3 tbs. lemon juice

2 1/2 c. flour

1 tsp baking powder

Image

(the gang, back together again!)

Cream butter and sugar…Image

until pale and fluffy.Image

In another bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and a pinch of salt(optional).

Image

Set aside, then crack two eggs into butter-sugar bowl.

ImageI got an egg with two yolks and it nearly scared me to death, but I just added another white and mixed it together…just like you should do.(Whip it, I mean.) It should end up looking like this:ImageThis seemed like the appropriate time to add in the lemon & lavender oil, so that’s what happened. Then came the dry ingredients, eager to join their butter-sugar-lemon-lavender-egg friends in the mixing bowl.ImageAnd it was at this point I gathered the courage to taste it.

And it was…

amazing.

It’s impossible to describe. I mean, it didn’t even “taste” like lavender, it tasted like lemon – but there was definitely something there, under the surface. It was sweet and tangy and butter, and it tasted like…amazing things. Like music and paintings and Amy Winehouse and Adele and like yellow and purple baked into a cookie.

It tasted gorgeous.

If things are allowed to tasted pretty, this tasted like gorgeous. This is what Chanel would taste like.

So they were popped into the oven for around eight minutes at 350 Fahrenheit and came out…like…I don’t know. Bites of heaven, maybe.

ImageAnd then, practically bursting at the seams with excitement, I held one out to Dad, holding my breath.

He scowled.

“Ugh,” he said, wrinkling his nose. “It smells like…it smells like cleaning supplies.”

I stared at him in shocked disappointment. “But- but-”

“It tastes good,” he amended, setting it down, “but ugh, the smell.”

In stunned belief, I picked one up, sniffed it, and then sighed. It did smell like cleaning supplies.
But just a little bit.

Not knowing what to do, I just left them and hoped for the best. I still think they taste pretty good; to each his own, I suppose. Or, to put it in better words:
For me, they tasted like Samantha Barks singing.

For Dad, it tasted like the singing of Russell Crowe.

Well, it’s the experience that counts, right?

See you!

xo Becca

(Update: Okay, so apparently these were a fail. Everyone says they smell too strongly to handle; maybe my nose is dead or something. If making this, be warned…I still think they’re good.)

2 thoughts on “Lemon & Lavender

  1. Carol says:

    Love reading your posts. : )
    Interesting combination… I can see how our brains would trick our taste buds when trying something that smells like cleaning supplies.

  2. “It tasted like the singing of Samantha Barks for you and the singing of Russell Crowe for your Dad?” Well I guess you did warn that these recipes would be accompanied by references to Les Mis!

Leave a Reply

