Caking for Little Brothers – a Big Mess

2

February 10, 2013 by beccawittman

Image

Ughhhhh.

My lungs hurt – I left dripping cake batter in the oven too long and it smoked up the entire house. My fingers are sore from piping. My legs are almost numb from standing in front of the mixer for hours at a time.

But it was worth it.

Image

Anyway, I brought this on myself. My little brother was dead set on making his own cake and it took days of begging and pleading to come to a compromise. He agreed to let me make the family cake if he could do the cake for the party. (Demon child.) And he let me do whatever I wanted with it, as long as it was two tiered.

He wanted a two tier cake for a weekday.

Okay, well, I like a challenge.

And, okay, in all honesty he probably would have let me do his party cake except for the fact that I don’t do orders, I do ideas. (Which is a problem, but let’s not discuss that now.)

So we ended up with a two tier cake, vanilla with blackout chocolate filling on top and chocolate with vanilla strawberry filling on the bottom. I decided to do all new recipes from Sweetapolita’s sight. In retrospect, not the best idea ever to make a new recipe for a big project but eh, I break enough rules already.

Vanilla Cake

  • 5 large egg whites (150 g), at room temperature
  • 1 cup whole milk (237 ml), at room temperature
  • 2-1/4 teaspoons (12 ml) pure vanilla extract
  • 3 cups (345 g) cake flour, sifted
  • 1-3/4 cups (350 g) sugar
  • 1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon (19.5 g) baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon (5 g) salt
  • 12 tablespoons (170 g) unsalted butter, at room temperature and cut into cubes

Preheat oven to 350 Fahrenheit and prepare whichever cake pans you will be using.

In a bowl or cup, stir egg whites, 1/4 of a cup of your milk and vanilla. Set aside.

In an electric mixer, with the paddle attachment, mix flour, baking soda, salt, and sugar.

Image

Add butter and remaining milk and mix until moist.

Image

Then add the egg mixture in three separate batches and mix until smooth and pale.

Image

Bake around 20 mins. until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean(or a just a little crumby – depends on how you like your cake.)

And…done!

I didn’t get any pictures of the actual making of the chocolate cake or buttercream, nor chocolate filling. The whole thing was a bit hectic.

Chocolate Cake

  • 3/4 cup (95 g) all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup (150 g) white sugar
  • 1/4 cup (30 g) dark cocoa powder (I use Cacao Barry Extra Brute)
  • 3/4 teaspoon (3.5 g) baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon (3.5 g) baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon (3.5 g) cornstarch
  • 1/2 teaspoon (4 g) salt
  • 1/3 cup (80 mL) buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup (60 mL) brewed coffee or espresso, hot
  • 3 tablespoons (45 ml) vegetable oil
  • 1 egg, room temperature, lightly beaten
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons (7.5 mL) pure vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 Fahrenheit, prepare your cake pans, you know the drill.

In the bowl of a mixer with the paddle attachment, combine flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, and cornstarch.

In a separate bowl, combine buttermilk, vanilla, coffee, oil, and egg. Add liquid ingredients to dry bowl and mix until thoroughly combined. Pour into cake pans and bake around 15-20 minutes(less if using for cupcakes).

There ya go!

To be honest, I was a little down about the vanilla cake – it came out not nearly as white or fluffy as Sweetapolita’s. The search for a from-scratch solution boxed cake continues. Urgh.

After that it was just a manner of making the chocolate filling, video here, and the vanilla buttercream(a simple matter of whipping as many sticks of butter as necessary, adding as many cups of icing sugar as sticks of butter, and then vanilla and vanilla bean and milk until it looks good).

DSC_1028

DSC_1033

Yummyyyyy.

I didn’t get a chance to photograph the actual decorating process but we did some really professional photoshooting with a blanket.

Work it, girl.

DSC_1064 DSC_1061 DSC_1063

Muahahahaha.

Also, I don’t take any credit for this decorating process – blame it on the Hungry Housewife’s  ombre petal cake(link to be included later). Gorgeous and sinfully easy.

Like, really easy.

Like, ridiculously easy.

 

See ya!

 

xo Becca

 

2 thoughts on “Caking for Little Brothers – a Big Mess

  1. “I don’t do orders, I do ideas.” Great words to live by Becca! In fact, I think I am going to say that to my boss today. I’ll let you know whether I still have a job tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

