Caramel Adventures

2

February 16, 2013 by beccawittman

Dear Caramel,

I hate you.
(My life story.)

But seriously, I am not on good terms with this thing. I attempted caramel buttercream once. I got burn spots all over my arms, blisters on three of my fingers, and three unusable batches of caramel – one burned, one spilled, one seized.
It didn’t really work.

However, I am not going to be bested by sugar, butter, and cream.

There aren’t any pictures yet – sorry! However, I’d somehow mustered the will to try try try again, under the guidance of bFeedme. Surprisingly, the first batch it went rather well – a bit burnt, perhaps, but otherwise gorgeous, easy, and friendly.

Of course, I wasn’t satisfied. Second batch, here we come.
I was staring at it, waiting for it to cool down, until I could take no more and shoved a warm spoonful into my mouth.

Jackpot!

So, let me just say: if at first you don’t succeed, try, try, try again, and once you make this, you will never go back.

Ever.

No-Fail Caramel Sauce
(from bFeedme)

1 cup sugar
1/4 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup room temp. heavy cream

In a largish saucepan over medium heat, melt sugar. Stir occasionally, making sure no bumps are apparent. After it turns an amber color, add the butter in all at once and stir until completely melted. Take off heat, add cream(CAREFULLY! It will spit at you – very rude), stir, and take a giant whiff. Homemade caramel smells buttery and sweet and hot and rainbow-like. I swear.

Let cool, transfer to a container of your choice, and store wherever the heck you want – fridge, countertop, secret wizard lair, whatever. Best of luck to you!

xoxo Becca

(pictures soon!)

2 thoughts on “Caramel Adventures

  1. laptops says:

    You could certainly see your expertise within the article you write.

    The world hopes for more passionate writers such as you
    who are not afraid to mention how they believe.
    All the time follow your heart.

Leave a Reply

