Chai Masala Latte

Leave a comment

March 1, 2014 by beccawittman

Dude, I totally thought I would have posted this by now.

‘Cause if you hadn’t noticed, I’m a little obsessed with it.

I’m mostly making this since I feel terrible for letting my little corner of the internet rot away but I also felt I owed it to you guys to let you experience the wonderful tea-y bliss. (Also I’m pretty bored. It’s 8:30 Saturday night and I’m sitting in bed drinking from a mason jar of tea in a sweater that smells like wet dog. I swear I just washed it. It sits in the laundry basket for the day and when I get home it smells like a Chihuahua after a rainstorm. Thanks, Jack.)

(I totally could have been at the music night tonight but I am severely lacking in what my friends lovingly call “social swag”. Whatever. Next time.)

Anyway! Chai Masala! Masala chai! Same thing!

But remember, “chai” actually means “tea” in Hindi, so don’t say chai tea unless you really want to seem dumb and unaccountably American. (Isn’t that a movie?)

Typically what we Americans think of as chai is actually masala chai, which is black tea that’s spiiiicy. Hot hot hot! Actually it’s not that hot, just pleasantly burning. If that’s a thing. “Pleasantly burning”. Ha.

The spices are usually

  • ginger
  • cinnamon
  • cardamom
  • pepper
  • clove
  • nutmeg

And Tea Gods be praised it tastes good.

But you all know I ain’t got the time for making my own spice blend so if you wanna do that click here or just follow my recipe and buy some masala chai tea bags. I like Lipton or Numi Organic Teas but you know what, use whatever the hell you want to.

I usually wing it so this isn’t really a set recipe but more of a “here-are-the-ingredients: eyeball-it-and-good-luck-padawan” suggestion.

Masala Chai Latte:

  • water
  • milk
  • teabags (or  looseleaf to but you have to strain it – I don’t have a strainer so I just boil looseleaf tea and then pour it over a paper towel and into the cup, which works great)
  • sugar/honey/crystallized ginger/sweetener/whatever floats your boat
  • vanilla

That’s literally it. Literally.

So what you wanna do is fill your kettle with water and put on the stove. Preferably over a flame so it actually gets hot. Go ahead and throw your tea in there right away because you are a fierce warrior and can handle some strong tea, yo. (Or if you’re not then wait until it gets hot, whatever.)

Then on a separate burner put some milk in a saucepan and splash some vanilla in there and honey, if honey’s your thing. Let that get hot. Put a teabag in that too and stir.

As soon as your kettle starts whistling turn the heat off and let it sit for a couple minutes. Of course, how strong it is will depend on how long you leave it in. I left mine in for like five minutes because I am a strong independent woman who don’t need no weak tea but if weak tea is your thing, go for it, just leave it in for two or three. Whatever. Guess and check, guys.

Then put a paper towel over the saucepan with the milk in it and pour your beautiful brown leafwater over it. The liquid will mix with the milk but the paper towel will catch all the little looseleaf bits. If you just used teabags then pour it straight in.

Then pour your heavenly-smelling latte into a mug or jar or whatever, sweeten to your taste, and chug it. Or actually sip it at first cause it’s gonna be really hot.

Goes down particularly well with a giant snickerdoodle cookie or lots of cold delicious vanilla pudding. Jussayin’.

 

See you guys soon! I drank all my tea while writing this so I don’t have a picture but trust me, it looks as good as it tastes 🙂

xoxo Becca

Leave a Reply

